Minnesota Music Monday

Back when I first thought of these Minnesota Music Monday posts, the first band I had in mind to feature was Babes In Toyland, but I’ve held off until now. In their hay day, Babes In Toyland were the riot grrrls of Minneapolis. When I needed to figure out how to play bar chords, I went to see Babes and watched Kat Bjelland. Their final show at First Avenue was one of the best shows I’ve ever seen at that venue. They prove you don’t need boys to rock. Here’s a track more on the clean side.

The interesting thing is that years later Kat and I ended up being neighbors and friends, and we got together to let our sons have play dates. It’s not often that people get to enjoy such a friendship with one of their rock idols, and I’m thankful I had the chance to get to know Kat. So here’s a double shot (and one of my all time favorites):

This entry was posted in MNmusic and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

