Minnesota Music Monday

It’s been a little while since I’ve featured a great Minnesota artist and I can’t think of a better way to get back in the groove than this week’s artist – Brother Ali.

This first song was recorded in The Current studios and has a definite up-beat vibe with the chorus proclaiming, “I love the life I live!” It’s been running around my head ever since I was blessed Friday night to meet Governor Jon Huntsman. Because this was recorded for radio, it’s a clean track (no swears).

Last summer I went to Sound Set – a indie hip-hop festival in Minnesota hosted by Rhymesayers Entertainment. One of the best performances of the day was Brother Ali. One of the items in the goodie bag I received was a CD of various Rhymesayers artists, including this track from Brother Ali, which has become a favorite of mine. On this track, you will need to watch out for the language.

It must be stressed that indie hip-hop is not to be confused with mainstream/commercial hip-hop. While I can certainly understand some people’s aversion to rap, the indie scene in Minneapolis might make a believer out of many.

This entry was posted in MNmusic and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

