Minnesota Music Monday

As a native Minnesotan, I’ve made it a point at OB&B to showcase the incredible diversity of music that originated right here in the Land of 10,000 Lakes, although recently I was thinking of ways I could highlight Minnesota music a little more regularly. My answer – Minnesota Music Mondays. On Mondays I will post a song from a Minnesota talent, some of whom may be familiar, like Bob Dylan or Prince, and others that many of our readers may not have heard before.

For the premiere of this new music feature I wanted something special. For one thing, I wanted to feature a lady talent, as many of our Minnesota men have gotten plenty of exposure on this blog. A couple of lady acts came to mind, but I also wanted this first Minnesota Music Monday to have a positive, uplifting piece. Thankfully, my lovely cousin gave me a perfect song to share.

Before the lovely and talented Dessa was on the scene, Minneapolis had Desdamona. Five time winner of the Minnesota Music Awards for ‘Best Spoken Word Artist,’ she has helped Minnesota’s hip-hop scene and set the stage for other female artists, like the previously mentioned Dessa. This song is a perfect selection for our first Minnesota Music Monday and an all-around great message – “love your life.” Enjoy!

This entry was posted in MNmusic and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

