Their Party Left Them

A pair of defections in Georgia:

Two African-American Democrats on Thursday announced that they were joining the Republican Party.

Hall County Commissioner Ashley Bell and former state executive committee member Andre Walker said the Democratic Party had grown too liberal and they are finding a new home with the Republicans.

“Since the first Democratic lawmaker bolted to the Republican Party, left-leaning activists have mocked and ridiculed those individuals as being self-serving people only looking for ways to remain in office,” Walker told the AJC. “But I’m not an elected official. I don’t hold public office. I’m not trying to protect my seat. I don’t have a seat to protect. I’m just a regular citizen with a healthy interest in the political process, and I’m joining the GOP because of ideology.”

I guess lefties calling the GOP “racist” isn’t enough.

This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Their Party Left Them

  1. katydid says:

    oh-ho!

    I love this story!

Leave a Reply

