Minnesota Beatle Project

Usually, I’m not a fan of other musicians recording Beatles songs. Don’t get me wrong – I love Beatle cover bands. Hearing Beatles songs live is great, but for me, recording them is a whole different ball of wax. I mean – you can’t improve on perfection. But that’s also not to say I haven’t heard a few exceptions to my own standard and, as chance would have it, there is an amazing Beatles cover on the forthcoming Minnesota Beatle Project Vol. 2, due out in a few weeks.

The Current has a sneak peek and a few sample tracks, which I unfortunately can’t get to embed. Click over though, and check out the bluegrass treatment Pert Near Sandstone gives to “I Am the Walrus” featuring Ryan Young from Trampled by Turtles.

I first heard it weeks ago when The Current debuted it on air. I assumed I’d hate it because it was a Beatles cover, but I was instantly struck by it. I think the musical style actually works to make the cover unique, but the style also works to keep the quirkier aspects of the original alive. There is a recorded Beatles cover I actually like! I wanted to share and see what others think – hope you like it!

This entry was posted in Beatles, MNmusic and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Minnesota Beatle Project

  1. 71LesPaul says:

    I like it a lot. Very cool contrast between the highly produced symphony orchestra in the original version and the bluegrass version that sounds like it was done in one take just sitting around on the front porch. Thats the best way to show respect when you cover a classic song like that. Make the song your own. They did.

  2. Gripweed says:

    Wow, that cover of “Ai iz the Walrus” was very good! I thought it might have worked better without the vocals but it was killer indeed!

Leave a Reply

